2. Listen, the Universe speaks.

10462893_10204318091220991_825197775120623558_n

“Listen, the Universe speaks.”

This photo was taken at an abandoned hotel while I was traveling with my pops in Roanoke, Virginia through Shenandoah National Park. Surprisingly, these words still guide me.

To me, the Universe speaks in untold ways. The most eminent way is timing.

I was walking from a friend’s house to the University Library at Bowling Green State University a few years ago, and I was routinely scrolling through Facebook and Instagram. I like to call this “stuck in the scroll.” It’s a common phenomenon for me, and I assume others too. My fingers robotically scroll past images and articles while my mind is searching for something engaging or gripping. Anyway, I was “stuck in the scroll” and I heard my inner voice say, “Put your phone down. Pay attention.” I listened. I crossed the street with a revived awareness. I didn’t reflect on why I heard this tranquil voice, I just listened.

As I was approaching the University Library, I spotted several mid-sized, textured cement planters with beautiful, crimson flowers. The sight of them energized me. It wasn’t enough to think that is what the inner voice wanted me to see. The Libra in me seeks extraordinary beauty. Then, I spotted something much more alluring. It was a brilliant hummingbird.

The seeker in me knew that the sight of this hummingbird was a message. But what message? I took flight to the library with so many questions.

Let me explain two things before I move on:

  1. I define a “seeker” as someone who seeks answers, who believes in infinite growth, and is open to the spiritual world.
  2. I have a deep-seated trust in spirituality. It grows when I feed it, and be can be relied on when I need it. And, I did intend to rhyme.

I found myself too distracted by my questions to pay attention during the lecture, so I was stuck in a new scroll. What did this hummingbird mean?  My research led me to truths my soul needed. I found an article on the meaning of a hummingbird spirit animal:

“Because of its speed, the hummingbird is known as a messenger and stopper of time. It is also a symbol of love, joy, and beauty. When the hummingbird hovers over flowers while drinking nectar, we learn that we should savour each moment, and appreciate the things we love.”

Timing. There was a paucity of joy in my life. I was distressed from my relationship trials. I was negligent to myself, fighting the past and unable to see the future. I was unhealthy and missing the moment.

I needed that reminder. I needed to see it, feel it, and question it. What beautiful timing! Seeing this reminder did not solidify an easy path to happiness, but it did give me the prompt needed to start slowly stepping into the direction of peace.

“Listen, the Universe speaks.”

It’s quiet. It’s gentle. There, too, are times it roars. However, I try and stay focused on that fluid voice that gently points me closer and closer to internal peace.

chuck-slusarczyk-jrrthummer4jpg-99275e2ffd9b847f.jpg

“A hummingbird is the creature that opens the heart. When the hurt that caused us to close our hearts gets a chance to heal, our hearts are free to open again.

With hummingbird consciousness, we learn the truth of beauty. Our life becomes a wonderland of delights in flowers, aromas and tastes. We laugh and enjoy creation, we appreciate the magic of the present moment, and the magic of being alive.”

And, finally, for the fact driven, scientific mind, here are some interesting googled facts about the hummingbird:

  • Hummingbirds can flash their bright colors, as well as hide them when needed.
  • The bright radiant color on hummingbirds comes from iridescent coloring like on a soap bubble or prism.
  • Humming birds can hear better than humans.
  • Hummingbirds can see farther than humans.
  • Hummingbirds are very smart and they can remember every flower they have been to, and how long it will take a flower to refill.
  • Hummingbirds don’t read books on what they are supposed to do and tend to do what they want.

I hope this offering of vulnerability, light & love finds you well.

 

 

“Listen, the Universe speaks.”

What does this mean to you? Anything? If so, why? If not, why? I’m curious. 

 

 

One thought on “2. Listen, the Universe speaks.

  1. Dear love,
    Thank you for your crucial reminder to savour the moments of life.

    Thank you for taking the time to write this inspirational message.

    I honor your heart, and your vulnerability, and your connection to hummingbird consciousness!

    Love & Light,
    Anya

    Like

Leave a Reply

